Your Calling and being Heard

I have never  been a fan of Oprah,  and that’s ok.  However, with that said, I have to say I admire the lady.  She overcame adversity in her life and look what happened.  She has this incredible influence in the world and jump started many careers. 

I was reading a blog today of someone who for them, Oprah is a role model.  I suppose there are much worse people to imitate.  This person copied a portion of Oprah’s final show transcript. I have to say what Oprah said spoke to me and I wanted to share it.

On our real ‘job’ in life:

What I knew for sure from this experience with you is that we are all called. Everybody has a calling, and your real job in life is to figure out what that is and get about the business of doing it. Every time we have seen a person on this stage who is a success in their life, they spoke of the job, and they spoke of the juice that they receive from doing what they knew they were meant to be doing. We saw it in the volunteers who rocked abandoned babies in Atlanta. We saw it with those lovely pie ladies from Cape Cod making those delicious potpies. … We saw it every time Tina Turner, Celine, Bocelli or Lady Gaga lit up the stage with their passion. Because that is what a calling is. It lights you up and it lets you know that you are exactly where you’re supposed to be, doing exactly what you’re supposed to be doing. And that is what I want for all of you and hope that you will take from this show. To live from the heart of yourself. You have to make a living; I understand that. But you also have to know what sparks the light in you so that you, in your own way, can illuminate the world.” ~Oprah

 A universal desire:

“I’ve talked to nearly 30,000 people on this show, and all 30,000 had one thing in common: They all wanted validation. If I could reach through this television and sit on your sofa or sit on a stool in your kitchen right now, I would tell you that every single person you will ever meet shares that common desire. They want to know: ‘Do you see me? Do you hear me? Does what I say mean anything to you?’ ~Oprah

 Now, my questions to you. 

Do you know what your calling is?  What lights you up and gives you passion?

Secondly, are you being heard?  Heard in your job, in your personal life?  If not, perhaps it is time to stand up and re-evaluate where you are.  If you are not being heard, let me tell you this.  YOU are important, YOU matter, YOU are significant and YOU are beautiful, just the way you are. Read it, hear it and believe it,  because you are not a mistake. 

Give me one more moment of your time as I have one more question.  Are you taking the time to be sure that those that  surrround you are being heard?  It may be one of the most important things you do in your life.  So, go ahead, take a moment and listen.  What you hear may surprise you.

  1. #1 by Kate @ Walking in the Rain on June 1, 2011 - 10:06 pm

    Wow, this post is perfect for me right now. I’ve been struggling to figure out what my calling is and trying to make myself heard. Its been pretty hard talking about my fears with a loved when, because they are convinced it is all in my head or I’m never going to be happy with what I have. I guess I just feel like I can have something better, and frustrated because I’m not sure how to go about doing it.

    When answering your second question, I’ve been so busy trying to feel heard I haven’t taken the time to listen. Perhaps if I try listening, things will go smoother.

    Like

    • #2 by Darin 2 Dream it on July 11, 2011 - 11:31 pm

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting on my blog! You are the first!

      Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

