Five Minute Friday: Growing

Lisa-Jo Baker encourages us, every Friday to write unashamedly and unedited for five minutes.  Today’s topic is Growing… care to join us?

Growing

Despite the fits and starts, I am growing.  I have days when I try to ignore it or sweep it away. It still happens even if I try willing it to go away and quit bothering me.

Despite my attempts at ignoring it, I relish the growth.  For years I ignored myself, my needs, my thoughts, my desires and even my dreams.    However, growing is painful.  As an adult, you would think growth would be joyous.  It’s not.

When you have ignored the voice within, squelched it, did everything within your power to extinguish it, growth is painful.  It’s painful because you are doing the growing you should have been doing all these years.

Still, I relish the pain.  I am learning who I am in the process.

  1. #1 by Diana Trautwein on September 24, 2011 - 3:14 pm

    SO glad you’re beginning to listen to, discover and release your own voice, your own self. Many blessings as you continue to grow in this self-knowledge and as you wade through the medical stuff after your diagnosis.

    Like

  2. #3 by Julie Anne on September 24, 2011 - 4:07 pm

    Wow… I am so here, too! just the hiding my thoughts, desires, dreams… I think I still am! appreciated your Five Minutes … thanks for visiting mine and giving encouragement!!

    Like

  3. #5 by Suzy on September 25, 2011 - 4:44 pm

    Isn’t it interesting how when we think we are not paying attention to ourselves, to our growth, it is happening anyway. I love it when I all of a sudden realize….Ohhhh…I just made it through another growth spurt! T

    Like

Leave a Reply

