A Little Decision

I decided, enough is enough and it is time to get myself healthy again.  You would think the decision would be a no brainer. But it took me deciding that I was important in order for me to turn back to a healthier lifestyle. 

I worked at a job that stressed me out.  I felt bullied by coworkers and unsupported by my superiors.  I worked too many hours. I couldn’t leave work at the job so I wasn’t sleeping well. I am an emotional eater.  So, I eat when I’m happy or bored but mostly when I am upset or stressed.   If that wasn’t enough, I didn’t exercise. That combination of behaviors; stress, not sleeping right, rarely breaking a sweat and meals consisting of junk food literally was killing me.  

First thing I did was quit my job.  And in the first week of not working, I slept ten to twelve hours a day. In the hours I was awake, I broke out the Wii.  I was trying not to do anything strenuous, because my body is weak and unbalanced. So, with the help of my Wii, I dabbled in some Yoga (stretching) and strength training.  I got surprisingly sore for “passively” exercising. 

Last but not least I started cooking the majority of my own food instead of going out. Even though I am preparing most of my meals, It is harder getting back into cooking, and I am not sure why.  I still enjoy looking at recipes – trying to decide if I think they will taste good.   I am trying to cook so there are leftovers because I don’t want to be in the kitchen creating food all the time.  (I have a few ideas of why cooking might be the harder but, I need to think on these before I commit to some reasons) But I know deep down that what I am eating right now is healthier and more nutritious because I am preparing it myself. And it doesn’t hurt that I know exactly what is in each and every morsel I put in my mouth.

In this amazingly short time, friends that I have run into say I look more relaxed.  I am feeling better …healthier.  I know for a fact that my dogs are happier and to me the puppy acts more confidentI have the time to walk them (and myself), and am looking forward to hikes in the hills and canyons soon. With the extra time I have on my hands, I am acquiring the desire to write again and even pick up my knitting.  Gosh… all in a little over two weeks.  Amazing what a little decision will do.

  1. #1 by Kaela Moore on February 25, 2013 - 10:45 am

    It’s amazing how much stress impacts our bodies. I’m so glad you’re starting to feel better! Good luck with your journey! It’s such a challenge to figure out what your body needs in order to feel its best. Thankfully, good food and good-for-you food can be the same when we are the ones doing the cooking. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

