Sausage Ravioli Lasagna

Lately in our house it seems we have been trying out a lot of new recipes.  Last night I made this new recipe and I think it will be awesome for your fall table.  I can’t say that it is healthy or good for you but it sure satisfies.  And I can’t tell you if it is easier to make than traditional lasagna as I have never made lasagna from scratch.  If it’s easier or harder, that is something you will have to tell me. This is another keeper, though it isn’t going into the rotation on a regular basis.

Forgive me in advance for the terrible formatting.  I can’t seem to get the spacing correct.  😦

Sausage Ravioli Lasagna

from Taste of Home Magazine

Bake: 40 minutes plus 10 minutes stand time

Serves: 8

  • 1 package cheese ravioli (25oz)
  • 1 ½ pounds Italian sausage
  • 1 container ricotta cheese (15oz)
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1 tsp dried basil – I used more
  • ½ tsp Italian seasoning
  • Spaghetti sauce 40oz worth
  • 2 cups shredded Italian cheese

Cook the ravioli according to the package directions.  Meanwhile, cook the sausage in a skillet till no longer pink. Drain the sausage and drain the ravioli well.

Combine the ricotta cheese, egg, basil and seasonings into a bowl and set aside.

In a greased 13×9 baking dish layer 1 1/3 cup of spaghetti sauce then layer with half of the sausage and half of the cooked ravioli. Take the ricotta mixture and spread over the first layer.  Then take another 1 1/3 cups of spaghetti sauce and spread over ricotta.  Take the other half of sausage and ravioli and layer over the ricotta.  Spread the rest of the spaghetti sauce on top and top with the shredded cheese.

Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Uncover and bake for 10 additional minutes.  Let the dish stand for 10 minutes before cutting into it.

NOTES:  I didn’t use the full amount of sausage and balanced it out with fresh garlic, mushrooms and onion.  I sautéed the garlic, mushrooms and onion and added the sausage to this mix.  If you didn’t want to use meat, I would suggest garlic, mushroom, onions and some kind of green or yellow squash mixture.  But be aware that the squash will make the dish liquidy. (Is that even a word?) If you make it with the vegetables you might try not pre-cooking but defrosting the ravioli and this may absorb some of the liquid.  If you don’t like pork, use hamburger or turkey sausage – I think either one will work out fine. I didn’t have Italian seasoning on hand so I used dried Oregano, Thyme and garlic as substitute seasonings.  And I probably used more then ½ teaspoon as I like lots of flavor in my dishes. I ended up baking this for an additional 20 minutes uncovered instead of 10.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

