A Caregiver’s Story …. An Alternative

On one hand, it was a relief to finally be told that the doctors can’t fix mom and consequently, we could quit searching for that elusive cure that would make her whole.  And to be told there are alternatives to ER visits and hospital stays was not a bad thing either.  It seems like after every hospital release mom takes longer and longer to bounce back and recover. But, on the other hand, there is a down side to the news; even though I know in my head that one day my mother is going to die, to be given a potential deadline overwhelmed me.

The doctor was asking me if I would like to talk to mom about a prognosis and options for care; or would I like the doctor to talk to her? Huh. I didn’t have a clue how to start a conversation of this magnitude, would the doc at least intro it to her for me.  So, at my request the doctor repeated to mom, what the she just told me.

So that is why I need to get to  the hospital. We are going to talk to the coordinator from the hospice about what hospice is, and do we wish to go on it. 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

