A Conundrum or Learning Opportunity?

I read a post this morning that touched on twelve topics to not write about  if you want to create a serious blog. Number six warned me to not post a “Sorry I’ve Been Away Post.”

At first I stubbornly thought, “Nu-huh. She’s wrong.  My style is more intimate then that.  “I” connect with my readers.”  Blah, blah, blah. As the article seeped into my brain I decided she had a point. I do agree, that a certain style of blogger probably shouldn’t blog about being away and if there is a need to explain, talk briefly about the why and then get on with the post. But, here I am, still writing my I’ve been away post. However, I have rewritten my post, (and it’s definitely a more interesting post) and taking the advice of a seasoned writer. At least a little bit.

So without further ado …. Let me apologize for being gone.

Forgive me if my apology bores you but, to me,  there is a need to connect. After all, I consider you a friend and I feel you deserve to know where I have been hiding myself.  So friend, let me open the door, invite you to sit down and I’ll tell you a bit about my absence.

Where have I been?  It’s been nine days since my last  post. (I know, it’s only me that’s counting.) In my defense I have been at my home rejuvenating.  (And just in case you were worried about mom, she was staying at my brothers.) I had every intention of writing while I was away – but apparently I only made drafts!

Despite myself, I was productive on the home-front. I deep cleaned and rearranged furniture in the living room, made my own liquid laundry detergent and tried my hand at making some pizza dough. (I promise I will tell you all about my creations.)  I  was able to spend time with precious friends, learned of numerous people who are going to have babies and missed a wedding by mere hours. But, I admit, most of my time was spent relaxing, enjoying my wood-burning stove, lovin’ on my fur baby and reconnecting with the hubby. 

Someone wants her ball thrown.

Someone wants her ball thrown.

I will get back to blogging soon enough.  What do you do  to refresh your spirit?

  1. #1 by Pen of the Sheep on January 27, 2014 - 4:53 pm

    I completely agree with you! I feel that my followers are friends. I do actually get concerned when certain ones don’t post it respond for a while. To answer your question I cleanse my spirit by walking in God’s beautiful creation. God bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

