Homemade Liquid Laundry Soap

Just as I promised my tale of  adventure into making homemade laundry soap.

I’m sure you recall, while I was at home, I made my own laundry soap.  I am very excited about it.  Little by little I am turning my home into a  less toxic place to live. Homemade non-toxic cleaners, less processed food and more made from scratch food, homemade personal products, homemade laundry spot remover and NOW -Tatatadaaaah- laundry soap!

Laundry Soap before gelling (sorry it’s a bit blurry)WP_000511  A gloppy gelWP_000513 Blending the final product. WP_000514

I am glad that we blended it because instead of a gloppy soap we got  a thin pudding consistency that to me looked more like traditional laundry soap.  If you follow the link at the bottom of the post, you will get a  step by step visual process on making this soap.  One thing that I did when making this – after melting the soap on the stove – the five gallon bucket went into the bathtub.  It was easier to fill the 5 gallon bucket with water and if there was any mess it would be easy to cleanup.  I left the bucket in the tub until I was ready to wash some laundry!  Then I had to find that bucket a permanent home.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of Borax
  • 1 cup Arm and Hammer Washing Soda
  • 5.5 oz bar of Fels Naptha Soap, Zote or Castille Soap.
  • Water
  • 5 gallon bucket
  • Essential oil of your choice.  (optional)

This first batch cost about $8.00 to make because of the initial product investment. My next five gallon batch should only cost me $1.99. It could be less if I can get the bar soap on sale. Whoohooo! Can you say money saver?? We do not have a high efficiency washing machine so when we do a large load we will use one cup of liquid soap.   Assuming that I do ALL large loads, I should get 80 loads of laundry out of this first batch of soap. That makes every load cost 10 cents per load. My next batch will be all of 2 cents per load.

The initial results? I am happy with my first load of laundry with this soap. The laundry smells and looks clean. But, part of why it could look so clean is because of the homemade spot remover that I used on one garment. I didn’t scent this batch as we have been using unscented detergent. Actually, I like how it smells as is.

This is the RECIPE I used.  

How does your detergent rate?

Note:  There seems to be an argument whether or not Borax is as safe and non-toxic as everyone thinks.   Here is a link from Crunchy Betty addressing the issue.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

