A Caregiver’s Story…. It’s all about Perceptions

I found an online description from a hospice down in California.  The article gave a concise description of what hospice is and should be.  I printed it out for mom and she said it cleared up a few of her questions.  I just wish that our hospice had as clear description.

Moms bff stopped for a visit.  As I listened to their conversation, despite the print out I gave her, mom’s view of hospice is still distorted. She sounds pissed off at the doctor who suggested it.  What I hear, mom thinks that the doc sent her home to die.  Actually, the doc suggested Hospice or an extended care facility. The doc gave mom options and choices of what she could do.  How can I correct perceptions if she won’t talk to me about them?

 

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

