Homemade Salad Dressings

I made two super easy, Bragg’s apple cider based, salad dressings.  How easy are they you ask?  So easy I had both made in less than an hour.

One of the things I love about homemade salad dressings is that you can adjust them to your liking.  Like it sweeter?  Add more sweetener.  Spicy?  Add some red pepper flakes or cayenne. Cooking is all about experimenting and adjusting to you and your families taste. Best thing of all about homemade?  You know exactly what’s in the food you created.

The  Catalina dressing I made called for catsup.  I am not a big fan of store-bought catsup and one day, I am going to make my own.  But for now, while I still have a big bottle of it, I will use the store-bought. At least the store-bought doesn’t have high fructose corn syrup in it.

Homemade Catalina Salad Dressing

  • 2 cups olive oil
  • 1 cup vinegar – I used Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 ½ cups catsup I used some catsup and some tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sugar – I will use honey, agave or pure maple syrup in new recipes
  • 2 teaspoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 2 teaspoons granulated garlic-I will add fresh grated garlic next batch. I will probably add  basil and oregano as well.
  • 1 finely grated onion – I actually minced it instead of grating.

If you didn’t want to spend a lot of time mincing your onion or garlic you could add all your ingredients into a food processor and let the machine do all the work for you.  Now THAT is a brilliant idea!

Put finished product  in a shaker/pourer.  Shake before pouring on your salad to mix ingredients.

This would also make an excellent marinade.

As I mentioned within the same hour I made TWO dressings.  I also made a Honey Mustard salad dressing.  This dressing ends up being different every time I make it. I’ve added grated parmesan to it. I’ve added mayonnaise to it.  I guess I am just trying to create the best Honey Mustard Dressing that I can.

Homemade Honey Mustard Vinaigrette

If you have a shaker/pourer add all ingredients right into it

  • 2 tablespoons Dijon Mustard
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup, honey or agave
  • ¼ cup Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon granulated garlic
  • Add pepper to taste.

Shake and pour.  This makes a small batch so I usually double it.

You could add some mayonnaise to make it creamier and to thicken it as well. Experiment with it and make it your own.

I can’t tell you that these recipes are low in calories per serving but for me knowing that there is no ingredient that I can’t pronounce or recognize (other than store-bought catsup) on my salad outweighs having a low calorie dressing.

 

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

