A Caregiver’s Story…. Tension

I spent quite a few stressful hours on the phone trying to transfer mom’s oxygen service from hospice to a new, licensed with Medicare, home oxygen company. By the way, unless you’ve been living under a rock, you know that there’s been a few changes in the health care system recently. Uggh.

My initial interaction with this company wasn’t pleasant and I got frustrated. I wasn’t making any headway in trying to switch and I felt stonewalled by this particular customer service agent. (I use the term customer service loosely and with utmost sarcasm.)

Unfortunately, when I am stressed and tense my ability to hold my temper is a bit ummmmmm… nonexistent? And mom decided, with all the hub bub about getting discharged from hospice and needing to exchange services again, that today was the day she needed to repeat to me how negative her experience with the hospital doctor and hospice was. Her and I disagree about how “terrible” it all is and between mom’s negativity and the tough time I had with the oxygen company, I reached my limit. I was not able to reign in my temper.

The good news about this taxing  day, I did get things switched over. The stress was amplified because I needed to quickly get this arranged so I can take a short trip  to take care of my own house for a few days. The new equipment should come the day after I get back to mom.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Lisa M on August 3, 2014 - 5:42 pm

    Stopping by to say hello. I am a caregiver for my mom as well. I ran across your blog and the words caregiver – I’m always excited to run across others who are telling their stories – makes me feel so normal, not so alone. Sorry about the oxygen – and the timing – and the temper…we all have those days and it’s okay.

    Like

  2. #2 by shabeeha on August 6, 2014 - 2:09 pm

    Everyday is a blessing. I have been there and remember those kind of days. Treasure every moment with her. It’s the hard days that will give u the best memories

    Like

Leave a Reply

