A Caregiver’s Story…. Sundays

Sunday breakfast is a ritual at our house; eggs of some kind, toast, fruit and sometimes juice.  There is more food on the gussied up table then what we would normally eat for breakfast on any other day of the week. We try to give it a feeling of going out for brunch; it just needs a glass of champagne… or a Lambic.

Another Sunday ritual, or an occasional Saturday, is going over to my brothers for the day. For me, time at my brothers is used for a stress relieving hike. I can head out for a couple of hours, knowing that mom is in good hands and entertained while I am gone.

When I came back from this day’s hike, mom and the girls had already started a rousing round of the domino game Mexican Train.  Today, I joined in. It’s been a while since I have played and I have missed the jousting.  It’s a simple game and at times a ruthless one.  That’s what makes it so fun, all the backstabbing.  In one round, mom messed up three of my plays.  It’s a game that can make a person go GRRR, or insert your favorite expletive, all the name calling is in jest.

Mom won this game…. And no we didn’t let her win.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Lisa M on August 26, 2014 - 4:17 pm

    I love that your mom can still play (and win) at games! My mom used to love to play cards (talk about ruthless), but she won’t even try anymore. I think she’s embarrassed that she can’t remember the rules or the moves or she gets nervous or something. It’s too bad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

