No Bake Chocolate Almond Oat Bars

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????I’ve been missing treats lately. Which is weird because I really am not a sweets kind of person but, they are nice on occasion. It takes eliminating something from your diet to realize that so many things are made with the item you have banned from your life.  Lots of treats are made with wheat.  So, I rarely get to have cookies or cake, unless I make them myself.  I know, poor poor me.  Not that I actually NEED treats.

I got on this track because, mom had a birthday recently and she chose to have a strawberry rhubarb pie for her birthday “cake”. (I didn’t get any of that either.) So that got me thinking about MY birthday and I realized with a shock, that I can’t have my usual requested chocolate mousse cake with raspberry filling.  (Big frowny face.) Granted if I really really wanted it, I could have it made with a substitute flour but I have the feeling that it wouldn’t be the same.  Sigh.

As I was grousing about the lack of sweets in my life,  I was reading my most current Martha Stewart magazine and I saw this recipe.  I thought it sounded easy enough, would satisfy my craving and I could adapt it to my liking.  I know, I rarely leave a recipe alone, it’s a curse I swear.

I copied the recipe exactly as it was written.

  • 1 Cup Almond Butter
  • 1/3 Cup Honey
  • 1 Stick Unsalted Butter
  • 2 Cups Rolled Old-Fashion Oats
  • 1/2 Cup Toasted Almonds
  • 6 Ounces Bittersweet Chocolate
  • 3/4 Cup raisins
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Coarse Salt
  1. Coat an 8 inch square baking pan with cooking spray.  Line with parchment, leaving 2 inches of overhang on each side.
  2. Melt almond butter, honey and butter in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring frequently
  3. Remove from heat and add remaining ingredients stirring until chocolate is melted and ingredients are combined.
  4. Pour mixture into prepared pan and refrigerate until chocolate hardens.  Three hours up to one day.
  5. Run a knife around the edges then use parchment to remove from pan.
  6. Transfer to a cutting board and cut into 24 squares.
  7. Bars can be stored in the refrigerator for up to three days.

Now for what I actually did.  I dislike cooking spray so I didn’t use it.  I didn’t need it either since I used a small jelly roll pan, though I did line the pan with parchment.  I substituted Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oats and instead of raisins I used dried cranberries. As I was making this, I thought that you could use peanut butter instead of almond butter.  That could be really really tasty.  But a lot of people are allergic to peanuts so, I used the almond butter…. I wouldn’t want to be responsible for you going into anaphylactic  shock!  I didn’t have any unsalted butter so I used salted butter and left out the 1/2 teaspoon of salt.  See, I didn’t change the recipe too awfully much.

I was excited about the gluten free oats so I could eat these bars, and they are tasty, but very rich.  You don’t need a lot to satisfy that sweet-tooth. I’m thinking I am going to freeze these babies so I can have one the next time I need a quick sugar fix.

 

 

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

