Blue it Up or Pay it UP! Awareness for Pulmonary Fibrosis

For PF Blue (2)

Yep, that’s me

Raymond McKechnie Blue haired for PF

My cousin

My cousin challenged me to dye my hair blue for the Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation.

This challenge came right on the heels of the hundreds of ALS Ice challenges. We might feel like everyone is trying to pick the last dollar out of our pockets but, I realized that most people have a cause they wish everyone knew about.  My cause is Pulmonary Fibrosis; and September is the month for their awareness and fund raising event.  It’s called “Blue it UP or pay it UP.”  I was a bit nervous about dyeing my hair blue but I actually like it, A LOT.

One of the reasons that this particular cause is “near and dear” to my heart is this is the disease that stole my dad from my family.  This disease also stole my cousin’s dad and my cousin’s uncle.

Back in June of 1999, my dad was admitted to the hospital with breathing problems.  At the time, doctors speculated that he was experiencing a case of pneumonia.

During the time in the hospital, doctors inserted a breathing tube to help my dad breathe easier.  Dad did not like or tolerate the breathing tube well so they artificially induced a coma in the hopes that he would relax and let his body heal. My dad never came out of that coma.

Dad and I had quite a few heart to hearts while he was in that coma.  He never responded but, my heart tells me that he heard everything that I ever said to him.  Two days before he died we had a conversation where I told him that if he was ready to go, that it was OK to go, as a family that we’d take care of mom.

Before he was admitted to the hospital we had no idea that he was sick. Dad was hospitalized for one week.

On July 6th, 1999 my dad died from complications from Pulmonary Fibrosis, a disease we had never heard of until that day.

If you wish to donate to this worthy cause click on the link below and it will take you to my the page in honor of my dad. All donations are tax deductible and every cent counts.  Thank you.

Pulmonary Fibrosis Donation Page

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Dana Fashina on September 16, 2014 - 5:26 pm

    Niiiiiiice
    Love the color! On both of you!!

    Like

  2. #2 by Daring to Dream it on September 16, 2014 - 8:38 pm

    Thank you very much. It’s really grown on me and I am disappointed that it is fading so quickly. But, I suppose, that is what hairdressers are for eh??

    Like

Leave a Reply

