Five Minute Friday: Hold

I haven’t participated in a Five Minute Friday in a long time.  It’s been so long that Five Minute Friday’s are hosted by another blogger.  But, at least for today, I have decided to give it a whirl again.

The idea behind Five Minute Friday’s, is to write unfettered for five minutes using the prompt for the day.  Unfettered means no editing, no rewriting. Etc.  You get the drift.

Once you are done, you link to the site along with the other writers.  Go to the person’s blog in front of your link and post an encouraging remark.  That’s all there is to it.  Care to join me?

Five Minute Friday - 4

Today’s prompt is HOLD  go: Forgive me Lisa, from My Sweet Peanut for using your post as a launching pad.

My life is on hold; on hold to care for my mom.

My life has been a caregiver for almost five years.  I chose to do this but at times it scares me what my life will be like when my caregiving time is over.

I have not be able to secure employment because I am a honest person and tell a potential employer that at a drop of a hat, I may be taking mom to the hospital, or other emergency, that will keep me from working a full work day.  Apparently, employers don’t take kindly to that type of honesty.

I am getting older and have less and less time to round out my resume. (Let alone build up social security. How will I live when I am to old or too sick to work?) How do I explain the huge gaps of unemployment.  I can’t get paid for caregiving through the state – At times I feel like my time is unrecognized and uncompensated.  Would the state rather take the full burden of caring for my parent?

But, that isn’t the point.  As I have stated I chose this life. I chose it willingly and still do so willingly.  Most days, I am not angry about it. However, that does not mean I am not unafraid for my future.

STOP

  1. #1 by jodiesdye on September 19, 2014 - 1:30 pm

    Beautiful job! You hold a very important role in someone’s life, and which holds the smile of our King. #FMF

    Like

  2. #3 by ssandrax on September 19, 2014 - 1:59 pm

    It’s a good work to take care of your mom. I don’t know what will happen to you in a years, but the only I know is that God will get you rewarded after all your time and sacrifice you have spended with your mom. Enjoy it!!!

    Like

    • #4 by Daring to Dream it on September 19, 2014 - 2:10 pm

      My mom spent over 18 years helping me grow up. It’s the least I can do, to care for and spend time with her now. Thank you.

      Like

  3. #5 by Kristi Atkinson on September 19, 2014 - 2:33 pm

    What a challenging stage of life. I hear a lot of that beautiful prayer (that I have used often), “Lord I believe. Help me in my unbelief!” in your words.

    Like

  4. #7 by Lisa M on September 19, 2014 - 6:59 pm

    I worry about the same things…and I am honored you would use me as a jumping off point. I am amazed there is no plan in the works to compensate or reward or recognize those of us who care for our loved ones. Especially when you think about the huge amount of money we are saving the government agencies! Most days I can keep the faith, but there are others when I think of unemployment gaps and retirement funds, etc. that I get a tightness in my chest. I also know that until you’ve done this, you can have no idea how totally consuming it is. How the world thinks you’re sitting at home drinking coffee and watching talk shows when you’re actually up to your armpits in pee and bits of food and anxiety and fear and tears and sweat (my mom likes the house really warm!)…praying for you…stay strong and hold on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

