Baked Cauli-Tots

Cauliflower is not my favorite vegetable, and I don’t like it cooked.  If I am going to eat it, I prefer it raw with a dip or chopped in a salad.  My dislike of cooked cauliflower probably stems from, that as a kid, cauliflower was usually overcooked and mushy.  Even the word mushy brings to mind a less than palatable image. However, when I found this recipe for Baked Cauli-Tots I decided to give them a try.  The authors review of the tater tot wanna-be was absolutely glowing, so who was I to hold out?

In my effort to eat healthy, regular frozen tater tots have been removed from my food repertoire. Chock-full of fatty salty goodness, to me, tater tots are a divine comfort food. But take a closer look at the ingredients, you will find that tater tots have added sugar (why??) and other ingredients that cannot be pronounced.  Though I haven’t gotten over my love affair with tater tots, I’ve yet to find a suitable replacement. So, that is why Baked Cauli-tots are on the agenda for the day.

It looks like cheese

Looks like cheese

Squeeeeze….

Packed and Ready to Bake.

Looking Good

WP_001112

As you can see, my tots don’t look nearly as scrumptious as the authors.  (and I need to refine my photography skills.) But they tasted pretty darn good, for cauliflower tater tots.  😉

  • 3 Cups shredded cauliflower
  • 4 oz. (about 1 c) shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ Cup cornmeal
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  •  black pepper to taste
  • ½ tsp ground mustard
  1. Preheat your oven to 400°F. Spray a mini muffin tin with oil or coking spray.
  2. Place the shredded cauliflower in a kitchen towel and squeeze out the excess moisture.
  3. Combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl, and mix together thoroughly.
  4. Using a spoon or scoop, divide the mixture between the muffin cups and press down firmly into the cups.
  5. Bake at 400°F for 15-20 minutes, or until golden brown.

The above is Cupcakes & Kale Chips recipe.  If you click on the link, it will take you directly to her website and lovely pictures of her baked cauli-tots.

What I did differently:  Not much.  No really, not much.  I added granulated garlic.  That’s it.

There isn’t much that I would change in this recipe. But, because y’all know how much I LOVE cooking spray, I would suggest a mini muffin tray made out of silicon or something similar.  The silicon would make removal of the tots easier. Hmmm…. maybe more cheese too. Can you ever have to much cheese?

Did these subdue my craving for tater tots?  Yes, these tots are a tasty, fairly healthy substitute and I will be making them again in the future.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

