A Caregiver’s Story….The Switch Part Deux

It is a blustery rainy day. Mom is in still in bed and I hope to high heaven that I get things finalized with the equipment company today.  I need the switch to be over with, so I can relax.

This switch has been a complete cluster.  Our new company indicates that there is a missing piece of documentation. This missing document must coordinate with the original prescription for need of oxygen. Medicare will not pay for moms equipment without it.  I admit it makes no sense to me how the company prior to hospice could get paid with the same documentation, or lack thereof.  But I keep getting told  Medicare  won’t pay.

I have tried asking, if I drag my mom to the doctor, get another Rx with new and current documentation would that work. “No it won’t work, Medicare won’t pay.” (Shakes head… pulls out hair in pure frustration and confusion.) For the time being our only choice is to have the company deliver the equipment and have mom sign a waiver that states she is aware that Medicare might not pay.

I just want this to be over.  I totally am hating lengthy phone systems that require getting through the steps just so you can be in a waiting que and on hold indefinitely.

And by the way, Health care reform sucks.

Here’s a good one for you…… Mom has a fever and feels like throwing up.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by JodiMelsness on November 25, 2014 - 8:59 pm

    As a nurse, I call the doctor for an order and they fax it to the Oxygen company. Is she on hospice? They also take care of it. I know it’s frustrating.

    Like

    • #2 by Daring to Dream it on November 25, 2014 - 9:15 pm

      Thanks. She recently “graduated. ” So, unfortunately she is no longer on hospice and that’s part of the reason we are switching companies, again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

