A Caregiver’s Story…. Deactivate the Pacemaker?

My mom has a POLST document.  In it she has stated what type of advance treatment she would like in the event of cardiac arrest or other fatal bodily function.  I didn’t realize that she might need to state in that document that she would like her pacemaker deactivated as well.  Her pacemaker could prolong her life unnecessarily. There is no “fixing” what is ailing my mom.  It is something that I have come to terms with more then once during this journey. But still, my heart and brain are conflicted with pain and doubt.

I am now questioning was it wise to have a pacemaker implanted?  Is this device that supposedly keeps moms heart beating regularly prolonging the inevitable?  Is it causing more suffering than joy at being alive and waking to another day? This is one more conversation her and I need to have.  Unfortunately I don’t believe the doctor that inserted the pacemaker had that important discussion.

Read the article that got my thought process going HERE.

Here is a story of one families struggle to get their father’s pacemaker deactivated.  Warning; it made me cry.  What Broke My Father’s Heart.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by P---- on March 7, 2015 - 12:28 pm

    I have a friend who is dealing with this everyday. Sometimes I forget the magnitude of her struggle and must try much harder to remember that struggle and what it means to her. She is a much stronger person than she believes. The daily battles with fear, guilt, and a strong-willed mother are exhausting, but she perseveres and is victorious in keeping her wits about her and her attitude a loving one.
    I admire you for carrying on with this blog…people will find you and find strength in your words. Please don’t stop now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • #2 by Daring to Dream it on March 7, 2015 - 10:00 pm

      Thank you for your comment and encouragement. It means more then you imagine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

