Shepherd’s Pie

Shepherds Pie
So, I took out hamburger and I wanted, did I say wanted, I NEEDED to cook something different with that ground meat. We’ve done meatloaf, spaghetti and chili till I can make those in my sleep. We’ve even made a mock stroganoff with ground beef.  It was time to infuse our hamburger portion and rotation of meals with something new, please.

As per usual, when I have a need to find something new, I hit up the internet.  Don’t ask me how or why shepherd’s pie came to my brain but into my head it crashed.  A simple search found me a recipe that indicated that I could have it ready in thirty minutes.  Now, it could be because this was the first time EVER making shepherd’s pie that it took me longer but, I will let you in on a not so secret secret; it took me about an hour. The time it took could also be that I put my own spin to the recipe as well.  Ya think? As I have said not being able to leave a recipe alone is a curse.

Go here to peruse the Rachael Ray inspired recipe.

Now, for what I did different then Ms. RR.  I didn’t use salt.  I added chopped mushrooms to the meat mix.  To me it sounded bland so I added some thyme and garlic.  How can you make any savory dish without adding garlic??  Because I am eating wheat free, instead of flour I used potato starch.  When I put everything together I didn’t put it under the broiler.  My oven was pre-heated to 350 and I warmed up the pie.  When the pie’s temp resembled molten lava, that is when I turned on the broiler and browned the potatoes. After five minutes or so, out the pie came and then topped with cheddar cheese and popped back into the oven to melt the cheese.  I didn’t have fresh parsley so I sprinkled the finished product with fresh dried. The parsley made it look additionally pretty and well dressed.

I have to say, in the words of Rachael Ray, that this was “delish.” Truly.  It must be, mom ate three helpings and is not concerned that we have leftovers.

What I would do differently the next time I make this?  I would mash the potatoes in the same pot that I boiled the potatoes in. Why create one more dish to wash if you can help it.  Just be sure to drain your potatoes well. That’s it.  With the changes I made that is the only thing that I will be doing differently. Ha, at least for now.

I have a bit of trivia for you.  Did you know that shepherds pie, as we know it, is actually called cottage pie? Traditionally, shepherd’s pie is made with lamb.  See, you do learn something new everyday.

One caveat, if your ingredients reach the top of the baking dish, I suggest putting a sheet pan under your pie or you may possibly be cleaning your oven once dinner is over.

Let me know what you think and if you make this recipe do share your thoughts.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by C on March 11, 2015 - 11:37 pm

    Sounds like you found a nice new dish to add to your recipe files. And it sounds quite tasty.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. #2 by Daring to Dream it on March 12, 2015 - 10:42 am

    It was tasty. Thank you for visiting and taking the time to comment.

    Like

  3. #3 by Anonymous on March 15, 2015 - 11:03 am

    This looks amazing! If I was a person who spent real time cooking, this is something I would spend time making if only to taste what I see in your photo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

