A Caregiver’s Story…. Different Day New Shit

crazy new shit

I saw this picture on Elizabeth Gilbert’s Facebook page and instantly knew that I had to have the image for my post.  I hope y’all will forgive the profanity.  But, then I did explain, at one point, that I don’t usually beat around the bush and tell it like it is.  So there you have it.  Apology withdrawn.

Life has been a wild ride of late.  Mom ended up in the hospital with heaps of sepsis’s and infections and what have you. To be honest, I did not think she was going to make it.  But she does have that Finnish Sisu giving her a will power of titanium.  Even the doc, who originally suggested Hospice, admitted to under estimating moms will.  But pulled through mom did and chose a round of physical rehab to boot. Rehab is a good thing.  Especially when a child is taking care of a parent.  It’s just too easy for the parent to say no, I don’t want to do my exercises.  What is a child to do?  Unless said child has a steel rod for a backbone, you just give in.

Not only has mom been healing her body, and making a million phone calls to straighten out the tangled web of Medicare versus Hospice. ( Don’t let me get started on that. A bureaucratic nightmare!) Mom has made some major decisions about her life and how and where she wants to spend it. Drum roll please…. moms house will be going on the market and she will be moving to my home.  It totally blew me away when she casually announced that that is what she wanted to do. After six years, I finally get to permanently move home.

Now my life, on top of caring for mom, is filled with interviews for movers,  estate sale people and Realtors.  Mom is whittling down her 1700 ft house (plus a FULL garage) of stuff to a single bedroom.  Psst, ya can’t take it all with you mom. Actually she is sorting and releasing stuff very well.  I can’t say I would do as well as she is about parting with her worldly belongings.

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

