A Caregiver’s Story….. Privacy

Most mornings I am awake a couple hours before mom. In our house she has the master bedroom with the attached bath. So, I guess it sorta feels like a tiny studio apartment, if you close the bedroom door. Giving her the master, is our attempt to allow her ownership and a feeling of autonomy. However, because our house is small, mom and I share the shower and the walk in closet.  You do what ya need to do. But, I do try to treat the bedroom and bath as “hers.” Privacy is an elusive commodity in our small house so knocking or announcing that you are entering her room, is the polite thing to do.

One of my small attempts at giving mom freedom of will, is allowing her to wake up and come out to the rest of the house on her time. Even so, my ears are receptive for movement coming from the direction of her room. If she isn’t moving around at a normal time, I get a bit uncomfortable and despite wanting to offer her privacy, and treat her like an adult, I may quietly open the door to make sure she is OK. All right, I’ll admit the truth. I open the door to make sure she is still with us and breathing.

Today is no different. I am awake before her and my ears are listening for those sounds that indicate that mom is awake. Eventually, I hear the walker on the tile, the buzz of her nebulizer and recognize that all is well, for today.  And for that, I am grateful.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Paula on July 17, 2015 - 1:56 pm

    Your mom is very lucky to have you in her life. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

