Gluten Free Rhubarb Pie

I am not a baker.  I prefer the in-exacted-ness of cooking as opposed to the perfect science preferred for baking; at least if I want my confection to turn out edible. Occasionally though, I like to try and expand my technical skills in the kitchen.

Today I made the attempt of expanding my skills because, my rhubarb begged me to bake it into a rhubarb pie. Ha, it didn’t take me long to cave in. So, with the help of Betty Crocker and Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pie Crust mix, raw ingredients morphed into a lovely rhubarb pie.

PART_1439063630753_20150803_173623 (2)

Of course, I made a couple rookie mistakes. I added more rhubarb then what the recipe called for, cause rhubarb shrinks, but I forgot to add more sugar. Less sugar gave the pie a tasty mouth puckering tartness, which I love. But, not everyone in this house loves tart. I say let them do their own baking. But, it’s not so tart that a scoop of vanilla ice cream won’t sweeten it up.

I shorted my crust by two tablespoons of fat which made the dough a tad drier and harder to roll out.  Over all though, I really liked this crust.  And that is saying quite a bit because I don’t like pie crust.  This crust had a shortbread-isque flavor and texture which made it oh so yummy.

Lastly, I should have put an egg glaze on the top crust, the finished product is a tad pale.

PART_1439063647478_2015-08-04_17.51.40 (2)

This is NOT the end product. I forgot to take a picture of the uncut finished product.

I would use this mix again.  It was fairly easy and like I said, tasty.  Even a couple days later and barely covered, the crust is holding up well.

PART_1439064417446__2.IMG_20150808_140142 (2)

Not much left.

Which do you prefer, cooking or baking?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Holistic Wayfarer on August 15, 2015 - 7:07 pm

    Looks great!

    Like

    • #2 by Daring to Dream it on August 16, 2015 - 10:24 am

      Thanks! I wish I had gotten more if it. My family scarfed it down so fast.

      Like

Leave a Reply

