Entitlement

Entitlement.  A person or group claiming they have a right to something; a right to something that they didn’t necessarily earn,  a feeling they deserve it. The young couple mentioned in this GoFundme page leave me greasy with the idea that they feel entitled.

In today’s society there are people who feel entitled. Hmmm…. And right at this moment I am completely feeling my age.  Not because of any bodily aches or pains. I hear these words forming and I am speaking as an old person.  You know what I mean,  “In my day we never….” The editorial in my head remembers a different time and mind set.  I don’t recall being rewarded for doing my best. My soccer teams never won trophies for participating in tournaments.  If I wanted to go to college, I had to figure out how to pay for it, not rely on the government to allow me to go for free.  And right or wrong, we respected our elders.

Sure there are two sides to every story.  This elderly couple could be total pains in the neck to the new neighbors. I don’t know the whole story.  (and I know how cranky and stubborn the elderly can be at times.) But, to me it sounds like the young couple are trying to force a move on this elderly couple that have lived in their home for 50 plus years. But, as I said, I don’t know the whole story and I am forming my own opinions.

For me the issue is about respecting other people and their property.  It’s about being neighborly and attempting to work things out amicably.  And then there is this. When someone, in my mind,  attempts to take advantage of or disrespect the the elderly well, let’s just say it gets my dander up.

What happened to common courtesy, loving your neighbors or honoring your elders? Entitlement, it mucks up a lot of things.

If you feel inclined head on over to Help us Build a Road and read their story.

 

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Denise Nestor on March 29, 2016 - 1:19 pm

    THANK YOU! OMG! this is the family of a friend of mine and this blog is the bomb! You will surely make a world of difference in their living conditions! Thank you is surely not enough, but I know they will be so grateful when they can access their home without walking through the horrible weather for a block. THANK YOU!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • #2 by Daring to Dream it on March 29, 2016 - 8:11 pm

      Denise, it is my pleasure to try and help. I hope that in my small way, I can help them get their road and the respect that they deserve.

      Like

Leave a Reply

