A Caregiver’s Story …. Alive for 88 Years

 

moms-birthday-2016

Alive on this earth for 88 years. I cannot begin to fathom the changes mom witnessed over the years. From being a child of the depression to the information age. From living a simple life on a farm to instant everything.

Every year, I have asked mom what she would like for dinner and dessert on her special day. Last year she wanted steak, potatoes and a pie. This year she wanted barbecued chicken, potato salad and a white cake with lemon filling and whipped frosting.

My sister came for the day and her gift to mom was a mink stole and a tiara. Mom wore that stole all day, “Cause the stole keeps me warm.”  She would have wore the tiara all day, but it gave her a headache.

I hope you had a great day mom.  May you have many more healthy years.

,

  1. #1 by candidkay on October 23, 2016 - 7:39 pm

    I am loving the tiara! A woman with spitfire:).

    Liked by 1 person

    • #2 by Daring to Dream it on October 24, 2016 - 10:01 am

      Spitfire indeed! I think that is part of the reason she keeps defying all odds and is still keeping us on our toes.

      Liked by 1 person

      • #3 by candidkay on October 24, 2016 - 4:28 pm

        I so admire women like that :-). You are lucky to have her! But I am sure I don’t need to tell you that.

        Like

Leave a Reply

