Caregiver’s Story….A Body at Rest

As with all people, mom is going to die. I am not being morbid; I am being a realist. Now, mind you, I am not trying to hurry it along. I’ve told mom many times, at fifty plus years old, I am not ready to be an orphan.

In attempt to extend moms life and quality of living, I have been trying to get her into a respiratory program. This program would teach her proper breathing techniques. Additionally I believe there’s some physical conditioning.  In the past when we have tried to get into the program, we have been told mom is too healthy to qualify. It boggles my mind for sure. How sick does a person need to be?

As a last ditch effort to qualify for this program, mom agreed to an echo cardiogram. We received the results and she still isn’t sick enough to qualify. Her working heart capacity needs to drop to 35% in order to get into the program. She still has a way to go. Of course, in an odd way that is good news. The bad news being, without a structured program for her to follow, day by day mom’s physical health continues to deteriorate.

As a body ages, if we don’t do something to strengthen and build muscle, we lose those muscles. And I hope you know your heart is a muscle. And then there is the law of inertia,

An object at rest stays at rest and an object in motion stays in motion….

Simply stated in context of this post, if we don’t exercise, we have a tendency to not exercise.

When the doctor’s office called to let me know that mom didn’t qualify for the respiratory program, they offered to recommend a nearby clinic for physical therapy.  Really?? That’s awesome. Mom needs a drill sergeant, which I am not, to get her to move. When I try to get her to exercise, or even walk across the room to get her own water, she glares at me and says, “I can’t wait till you get to my age so you understand.” Oh mommy, I do understand, and I am learning from you how I do not want to be. Because mommy, I don’t HAVE to be in poor physical shape when I am in my 80’s. Of course, I don’t state this out loud because really, I don’t want to be annihilated. You know what I am talking about; there’s that thing called,  “Beaten with mom eyes.”

Anyway, I have scheduled her for an initial exam and three other sessions. In my sloppy haste to tell mom know about it, I told her if this program didn’t work for her we could cancel the sessions.  I gave myself a mental head slap for that. Stupid stupid stupid: never EVER give your mom a reason to escape necessary torture.

We, yes I say we, cause every thing we do is a we, start this program next week. We shall see how it goes. I do hope it goes well and that mom loves the exercise cause like I stated, I am not ready to be an orphan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by bluestempond on October 26, 2016 - 6:31 am

    You can’t force someone else to change even to improve their life. You can hand the job to a professional who is used to dealing with resistance, though , and won’t take it as personally. That works.

    Liked by 1 person

    • #2 by Daring to Dream it on October 26, 2016 - 10:02 am

      It is true and that is why I am excited about someone else taking care of the physical training.

      Like

Leave a Reply

